Irish Mountain
Running Association

British and Irish Junior


Gerry BradyGerry Brady

Gerry Brady

Race results 1998-2009

Ireland first competed officially in Tweedsmuir Scotland and the event was renamed the British and Irish Junior Championships. The annual event comprises races for under 18 and under 16 boys and girls from England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. In addition there is an under 14 non-international race held.

Our best result in 1998 was silver medals for the girls under 18 team led home by Amanda Hanley in fourth place. Olga Cronin in fifth and Madeline Dorney in ninth completed the scoring team.

In 1999 the event was held in Wicklow on the slopes of Brockagh. Peter Dalton finished third in the under 18 boys race only 20 seconds behind the winner. Runner-up in the girls under 18 race was Katie Ingram of England who went on to excel at senior level including a seventh placing in the 2009 World championships.

Two years later Dalton led the Irish under 18 boys to our first individual and team victories in Cavehill Belfast. Niall Connaughton was runner-up only nine seconds behind Dalton and Craig Longmore completed the scoring team in sixth position. Another new name Sarah Tunstall was fourth in the under 16 girls race and she went on to finish fourth in the 2009 World championships.

In 2002 both under 18 teams won silver medals with Colm Turner claiming the individual bronze which he won again in 2003. Craig Longmore (4th) and Dan Mulhaire (8th) were the other boys scorers. Elaine Baker (4th), Ruth Mills (7th) and Niamh Devlin (8th) were the girls team.

In 2004 in Cumbria, Ellen Diskin was third in the under 18 girls race only 19 seconds behind silver medallist Sarah Tunstall. Ireland were runners-up in the girls under 16 team with Michelle Finn (6th), Fiona Slattery (7th) and Michelle Twohig (8th) the three scorers. Well-known triathlete Alistair Brownlee won the under 18 boys race.

In 2005 the event was back in Ireland in Carlingford. Ireland won silver medals in the under 16 girls with Michelle Finn taking the individual bronze medal and Rosie Temple (6th) and Karen McParland (9th). There were bronze team medals in the under 16 boys also with Conor Dooney finishing third individually and Ciaran McKenna (8th) and Eoin Pierce (14th).

In 2006 in Slieve Gallion across the border, the under 18 girls team won silver medals ahead of Northern Ireland. The three scorers were Rosie Temple (6th), Maire Ni Amhlaibh (7th) and Michelle Finn (9th).

In 2007 in Abergavenny in Wales, Michelle Finn finished a close runner-up in the under 18 girls behind Elinor Kirk.

Gerry Brady

Photos from Dave and Eileen at Woodentops now uploaded. Some excellent shots and if you send them a nice email, you may get a full resolution copy (you will be glad of it in years to come). and Irish Champs, 2009&photographer=Dave Woodhead and Irish Champs, 2009&photographer=Eileen Woodhead and Irish Champs, 2009&photographer=Dave Woodhead

The results from the 2009 British and Irish Junior international in Sedbergh England show excellent performances by the four Irish teams with two teams winning silver, one team bronze, and an individual bronze thus maintaining Ireland’s fine tradition in this event.

Top individual performance was by bronze medallist Christy O’Brien in the under 16 boys who was outsprinted for the silver medal by one second. The team won bronze medals behind England and Scotland with Shawn McCormack (13th), Ben Mangan (15th) and Fintan Doherty (16th). Congratulations to Eoghan Totten (Northern Ireland) who was the individual winner, showing the benefit of a summer season on the track.

The under 16 girls were all competing in their first real mountain race and found the steep slippy conditions difficult. They packed well with Sinead McDonald (10th) followed by Meghan Ryan (14th), Laura Hannigan (17th) and Claire Brennan (18th). This team will all be eligible for the international Youths challenge in Italy next year. Wales got the individual win with England best team from Wales and Scotland.

The under 18 girls packed well for silver medals with Niamh Denny (5th), Niamh Kearney (6th) and Sinead Cronin (7th) all showing the benefit of international experience during the summer. Aislinn Moorhouse (11th) was close behind in her first serious mountain race. England won the team from Ireland and Scotland. Caitriona Buchanan (SCO) was a convincing individual winner.

Emmet Jennings (4th) led the under 18 boys to silver medals supported by Jonathan Phillips (7th), John Harrington (10th). James Egan (14th) ran well in his first race at this level. Scotland had a clean sweep of the individual medals for an overall team victory from Ireland and England.

Congratulations to the runners and to the hard-working team managers and supporters.

Boys under 18
1. Robbie Simpson (SCO) 26:35
2. Alex Hendry (SCO) 27:15
3. Jamie Stevenson (SCO) 27:34
4. Emmet Jennings 28:06
7. Jonathan Phillips 29:14
10. John Harrington 29:56
14. James Egan 31:20

1. Scotland (1, 2, 3) 6
2. Ireland (4, 7, 10) 21
3. England (6, 8, 9) 23
4. Wales (12, 13, 15) 40
5. Northern Ireland (11, 17)

Girls under 18
1. Catriona Buchanan (SCO) 30:54
2. Becky Lambson (ENG) 33:03
3. Rachel Jefferson (ENG) 34:14
5. Niamh Denny 36:00
6. Niamh Kearney 36:25
7. Sinead Cronin 36:27
11. Aislinn Moorhouse 41:45

1. England (2, 3, 4) 9
2. Ireland (5, 6, 7) 18
3. Scotland (1, 8, 9) 18
4. Northern Ireland (10)

Boys under 16
1. Eoghan Totten (N. IRL) 19:51
2. Marc Scott (ENG) 20:07
3. Christy O’Brien 20:08
13. Shawn McCormack 22:29
15. Ben Mangan 23:38
16. Fintan Doherty 23:44

1. England (2, 4, 9) 15
2. Scotland (5, 7, 8) 20
3. Ireland (3, 13, 15) 31
4. Wales (6, 12, 17) 35
5. Northern Ireland (1, 14)

Girls under 16
1. Ffion Price (WAL) 22:53
2. Mel Hyder (ENG) 22:53
3. Laura Riches (ENG) 23:37
10. Sinead McDonald 26:23
14. Meghan Ryan 26:56
17. Laura Hannigan 27:29
18. Claire Brennan 29:48

1. England (2, 3, 6) 11
2. Wales (1, 9, 12) 22
3. Scotland (4, 5, 13) 22
4. Northern Ireland (8, 11, 16) 35
5. Ireland (10, 14, 17) 41