Irish Mountain
Running Association


Mick HanneyMar 13 2023, 6:16pmFor some reason when you Click on History, it doesn't give all the results that are available on the system.

From what I can see this race was ran 4 times before:-
There may be previous events not on the system.

While we are just over a month away from this race, if you plan to run it, you would be advised to get a recce in and be prepared for a long stint in the hills going by previous results.
Mick HanneyMar 13 2023, 6:19pmJust spotted there is 5 previous results in Archive too, so the race appears to have a long history.
Mick HanneyMar 19 2023, 7:09pmPrevious Race men's winners and times (if available):-
1983 Wally Young
1986 Gerry McGrath
1987 Peter Gargan
1988 Brian Bell (see below: *)
2000 John Lenehan 01:52:33 Fastest time (M)
2001 Simon Fairmaner 02:01:16
2007 Eoin Keith 01:59:50
2013 Brian Furey 02:16:01

Previous women's winners
1987 Caitlin Bent
1988 Majella Diskin 02:24:21 * Overall Winner. Fastest time (W)
2000 Shilleen Donnelly 02:38:34
2001 Joan Flanagan 02:31:37
2007 Moire O'Sullivan 02:47:15
2013 Donna McLoughlin 03:10:15

Previous race reports - well worth a read:-

Lots of forestry cleared at Drumgoff Recreational area. So navigation to wards military road entrance to Fananerin ridge is more straightforward perhaps than previously.
Mick HanneyMar 19 2023, 7:39pmPlease note.
Parking & Registration will be at the Finish: Drumgoff Gap GR 087877
From here its a c.3k jog downhill to the start, or we can car ferry runners to race start. at Aughavanagh.
Mick HanneyMar 20 2023, 6:34pmEvent details tidied up.
Mandatory kit confirmed.
Recommended map added. East West Mapping Lugnaquilla & Glendalough