Irish Mountain
Running Association

AAI Dublin Senior Cross Country


Gerry Brady

Gerry Brady

The Dublin senior cross-country championships were held in St. Anne's Park in Raheny last Sunday. IMRA runners won both junior races with Tekea Ghebrezghi winning the women's and Emmet Jennings having probably his best ever race to win the men's. A good sendoff for a junior international in Belgium next weekend. Niamh Denny also had an excellent run in a close fourth and considering that she has two more years left in this category.

Rathfarnham won their first ever Dublin senior title and it was three mountain runners who set them up for the win. For a long time it looked like Sean Hehir would be their leading finisher but the effects of a recent heavy cold took their toll over the last few kilometres. Barry Minnock was always in contention and when the winner went for home Barry was the only runner who could give chase. However the pursuers never gave up and three of them were to reel him in during the closing stages of the race. Mark Ryan was always chasing the race after having to stop to put one shoe back on early in the race. He worked his way back from around 30th to 6th with controlled steady running. Jason Kehoe and Rene Borg ran well for Crusaders and helped their club to a fifth team placing.

Junior women
1. Tekea Ghebrezghi (Celtic/DCH) 9:43
4. Niamh Denny (DSD) 9:54
8. Aislinn Moorhouse (Celtic/DCH) 10:22
10. Sinead Cronin (Celtic/DCH) 10:35
14. Carol Huet (DSD) 10:52
16. Aisling Walsh (DSD) 10:57
18. Karli Krobb (DSD) 11:17

Junior men
1. Emmet Jennings (DSD) 20:25
10. James Egan (DSD) 22:12
23. Sean Wall (Sportsworld) 23:59

Senior women
20. Mags Greenan (Clonliffe) 26:16

Senior men
5. Barry Minnock (Rathfarnham/WSAF) 32:08
6. Mark Ryan (Rathfarnham/WSAF) 32:30
7. Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham/WSAF) 32:35
25. Eoin Rowan (Donore) 35:18
36. Kevin Keane (Rathfarnham/WSAF) 35:43
48. Niall Sherlock (Clonliffe) 37:04
58. Keith Daly (Donore) 38:43
62. Jason Kehoe (Crusaders) 39:00
65. Rene Borg (Crusaders) 40:11