Irish Mountain
Running Association

Lisvernane/Aherlow

Forum Messages

AuthorDateMessage
Anne-Sophie RonvauxJan 27 2022, 1:34pmHello everyone,

I am new to trail running, but I registered as I always wanted to try after seeing people running up the hills when I was hiking. I was planning to join the Lisvernane/Aherlow race as my first event, but here is my question :

How slow can I be?

I am getting better but still very slow, last Sunday I ran 8 k in 1h20 (it was very steep). I don't mind arriving last, but I don't want people to wait for me for ages after everyone is finished.

Should I wait a bit? What do you think?
Stephen O KeeffeJan 27 2022, 2:27pmHi Anne-Sophie,

You should ask if there is an early start. They do it in some races for the slower runners. As a pack of the pack runner myself, and usually in last, all I can say is the volunteers are brilliant and will always wait for us to finish.

Stephen
Robbie WilliamsJan 27 2022, 7:10pmJust one point on this.

In race of over 8km an early start may be allowed but you should make sure to ask the Race Director. This may allow you to start 30-60min before main race.

That way the runner who are not racing but are volunteers that day are not standing out in potentially bad weather for longer then what is needed.

Please also make sure to volunteer at least once for every 5 races you run in. This allows every person a fair amount of runs.
Anne-Sophie RonvauxJan 28 2022, 10:12amThanks Robbie and Stephen for your answers.
Alice ClancyJan 28 2022, 10:44amHi Anne-Sophie, you are very welcome to IMRA!

Starting off with trail runs less than 10k and volunteering at races are a good way to get a feel for the type and speed of running at IMRA events. Volunteering is also a great way of getting to know other hill-runners and to organise training runs too.
The early start is a great option to take if you are worried about time (check with race-director, it's not at every race)....it's also a lot of fun!