Irish Mountain
Running Association

Nav Challenge 1

Forum Messages

AuthorDateMessage
Laura FlynnJan 14 2016, 3:53pmGavan, I'm writing to Coillte and Parks re permits for 2016 events . What is position red routes/ maps for navigational challenge . Will I tell them that they are broadly similar to last year?
Gavan DuffyFeb 24 2016, 10:33pmHi,

From reading through the events list, many of the races that have great looking trails advise that the runner must have a map, compass etc. I have never entered one of these races as I've never used a compass and map before. Is this hard to learn. Has anyone got advice on how I would go about learning this or better still who should I chat to, to get up to speed on this.

Thanks
Gavan
Karen DevenneyFeb 24 2016, 11:12pmHi Gavan, I first learned how to use a compass on a group recce for the Stone Cross to Lug relay. I got a bit more practice in the run up to the race and shortly after, took up orienteering which is great for learning navigation & improving skills. There are regular Come & Try It events to check it out & people are very friendly & helpful in showing you the ropes. Check out www.orienteering.ie. I'm sure there are also proper navigation courses you can you but as many IMRA runners also orienteer so you might well get some tips from friends
Gavan DohertyFeb 25 2016, 10:18pmHi Gavan,

Good to hear this kind of question asked. For some of the open mountain races the requirements are overstated but all it takes is bad weather/low visibility and having a map and knowing what to do with it are crucial!

I'd suggest a few things:
1) do the Nav Challenges. We've put on a short course for the last few years which is aimed at complete novices, no experience needed.