Irish Mountain
Running Association

Race Marker Responsibilities

Race Marking Guidelines

Some routes are marked, others not. A Race Marker is obviously only required if the race is publicised as a marked route.

The race route should be finalised well in advance of race-day and there should be no need for last-minute changes to the route or start / finish areas, baring unforeseen circumstances such as tree-felling.

Marking of the route should be completed well before the start of the race, so that there is time to update the Race Director on any issues encountered before the race starts. Typically it takes 4 times the winner's time to mark a route, though this estimate should be further confirmed when the route is recced. A circular route takes longer to mark than an out and back route, so in this case it is often better to have 2 markers who mark in different directions.

Normally, the Race Marker can run in the race if they wish.

Their responsibilities are to:
Mike Long24 timesYesYes
Niamh O'Ceallaigh19 timesYes
Gerry Brady18 times
Henny Brandsma18 times
Peter O'Farrell18 timesYes
Rene Borg14 timesYesYesYes
Mike Jordan13 times
Paul Mahon13 timesYesYes
Alan Ayling12 timesYes
Diarmuid O'Colmain10 timesYesYes
Vivian O'Gorman9 times
John Bell8 times
Greg Byrne8 times
Hazel Thompson8 timesYes
Mick Hanney7 timesYesYes
Fidelma Ayres7 times
Caoimhin MacMaolain7 times
John Fitzgerald7 timesYes
Stuart Scott7 timesYesYesYes
martin hennessy6 times
James H Cahill6 times
Peter Bell6 times
Dermot Murphy6 timesYesYesYes
Adrian Hennessy6 times
Paul Keville6 times
Adrian Tucker RIP6 times
Joe Lalor6 timesYes
Connie Dottino6 times
Brendan Delaney6 times
Bernard Fortune5 times
Conor O'Meara5 timesYesYes
Brian Furey5 timesYes
Tom Blackburn5 times
Cormac O'Ceallaigh5 timesYes
Patrick Lambert4 times
Zoran Skrba4 timesYesYesYes
Mike Cunningham RIP4 times
Graham K. Bushe4 times
Robert Cunningham4 times
Paul Nolan4 timesYesYes
Kenneth McCarthy4 times
Mikey Fry4 timesYes
Eoin Syron4 times
Brendan Doherty4 times
Brian Fennessy4 timesYes
Brían O'Meara4 timesYes
Aoife Joyce3 timesYes
Martina O'Kearney3 times
Niall Corrigan3 times
Lindie Naughton3 times
Caroline Reid3 timesYesYesYes
Barry Moore3 times
Derek Livingstone3 timesYes
John Kelly713 timesYesYesYes
Paddy O'Shea3 times
Paul Duggan3 times
Barry Hartnett3 times
Jim Fitzharris3 timesYesYesYes
Liam Vines3 times
Warren Swords3 times
Brian O Murchu3 timesYes
John Hayes3 times
Andreas Kusch3 timesYes
Angus Tyner3 times
Brian Buckley3 times
Rachel Cinnsealach3 timesYesYesYes
Ross Fitzgerald3 times
Owen Boyhan3 times
Iosac Coleman3 times
Des Kennedy3 times
Ted Feehan2 times
Trevor Woods12 times
Paul Smyth2 times
Richard Kieran2 timesYesYes
Colin Doyle2 timesYes
Shay Foody2 timesYes
Igor Gonzalez-Guridi2 times
Ger Griffin2 times
Paul Joyce2 times
Declan Wrynn2 times
Paul Minogue2 times
Paul V Mitchell2 times
Catherine Devitt2 times
Paddy Bourke2 times
Justin Rea2 timesYes
Odhran Hendley2 times
Brian O'Shaughnessy2 times
Jeff Swords2 times
John Lynch2 times
Patrick Ryan2 timesYes
Zoe Tyner2 times
patrick Rowe2 times
Moire O'Sullivan2 times
Keith Mulvey2 times
Roman Gregus2 times
Brian Mullins2 times
Pavel Bodi2 times
Barry Minnock2 timesYes
Gerard Griffin2 times
Pádraig Muldoon2 times
Keith Ryan Limerick2 times
Val Jones2 timesYes
Cormac MacDonnell2 times
Kate Cronin2 times
John Murray2 times
Jason Kehoe2 times
Jason Collins2 times
Gerry Lalor2 times
Mike Thompson2 times
Eoghan Moloney2 times
Hilary Jenkinson2 times
John Farrelly2 times
Seán Harte2 timesYes
Keith O'Shea2 times
Gordon Place2 times
Beth McCluskey2 times
John Hallahan2 times
Jane Griffin2 times
Kevin Lenihan2 times
Margaret Casey1 time
Kevin Cronin771 time
Michael Kilkelly1 time
Eugene Brady1 time
John Condon1 timeYes
John Greene1 time
Brian Flannelly1 time
Bronagh Cheetham1 timeYes
Paul Kelly1 time
Donncha Murphy1 time
Archie O'Donnell1 timeYes
Mick Worrell1 time
Ronan King1 time
John Oflynn1 time
Roger Tegart1 time
Tony Kiernan1 time
Jimmy Synnott1 timeYesYes
Maeve O'Grady1 time
Niamh Hartnett1 time
Yvonne Brennan1 time
Jay Edwards1 time
Stephen Cleary1 time
Michael J Kelly1 time
John O'Reilly1 time
Paul Flood1 time
Eoin Fitzgerald1 time
Patrick Lonergan1 time
Paul Grant1 time
Kastytis Bereznocenko1 time
Aidan Coffey1 time
Robert Caffrey1 time
Colm Mullen1 time
Briody David1 time
Sandra Byrne1 time
Conor Keane1 time
Aaron O'Donohue1 time
Sam Scriven1 timeYes
Ann Margaret Lynch1 time
Donal Collins1 time
Kerry Marie Keating1 time
Aideen Keenan1 time
Andre Van Barneveld1 time
Nora Lalor1 time
Martin Hennessy1 time
Ken OMahony1 time
Paul Tierney1 time
Anna Fahy Ryan1 time
derek walsh1 time
David Higgins1 time
Thomas Galvin1 time
Doug Corrie1 time
Rosalind Hussey1 timeYes
Deirdre Finn1 time
Matthew Branch1 time
Bill Barry1 time
Robbie Williams1 time
John Barry1 time
Kieran Rocks1 time
Colm Phelan1 time
Tony Sullivan1 time
David Gill1 time
Paul Duffy1 time
Nora Lalor1 time
ciara largey1 time
Kieran Collins1 time
Gareth Little1 timeYesYesYes
Anthony Whelan1 time
Tom Lupton1 time
Kevin Keane1 time
Jason Reid1 time
Shane Doyle1 time
Rian MacMaolain1 time
Dariusz Gazdowicz1 time
John O Connell1 time
Oran Murphy1 time
Anthony O'Reilly1 timeYes
Colm Ryan1 time
Linda Rowden1 time
Graham Porter1 timeYes
Aidan Blake1 time
Damien Holian1 time
Anthony Cornforth1 time
Robin Brady1 time
Brendan Lawlor1 timeYesYes
Barry O'Brien1 time
Austin Browne1 time
Robert Costello1 time
Vincent O'Sullivan1 time
Colm Mac Carthy1 time
Danny O'Connell1 time
Niall McAlinden1 time
Robert McEvoy1 time
Ivan Mahon1 time
Martin Briody1 time
Colin Murphy1 time
Tamas Farkas1 timeYes
Laurence Quinn1 time
Syl Ivers1 time
Gary Healy1 time
Hugh McLindon1 time
Paula Keohan1 time
Liam Bowe1 time
Adam Bushe1 time
Amidou Dembele1 timeYesYes
Andrew Trafford1 time
Niamh Garvey1 time
Kieran Morrisroe1 time
Conor Murray1 time
David Bawden1 time
Michael Foley1 time
Ian Conroy1 time
Gavan Doherty1 timeYes
Kevin Bell1 time
JohnPaul Mills1 time
Conor O'Farrell1 time
Hannah Gibney1 time
Gordon Douglas1 time
Orla McEvoy1 time
Jarlath Hynes1 time
David Briody1 time
Valdas Tilunas1 time
Tony Doolin1 time
Jeff Fitzsimons1 time
Mícheál O'Mullain1 time
Ruth Lynam1 time
Zoe Melling1 time
Martin Cooney1 time
Robert Carney1 time
John MacEnri1 timeYes
Tim Flaherty1 time