Irish Mountain
Running Association

Gloves

AuthorDateMessage
John Murphy74Feb 25 2024, 12:14pmI'm looking for some advice from the wealth of collective knowledge here. I suffer from Raynards in my hands, they can get extremely cold and then numb and sore. I had an incident on Mt Leinster yesterday where my gloves got wet and my hands became unusable for a spell. Just wondering what gloves people use for very cold weather on the mountains.
John J BarryFeb 25 2024, 12:28pmJohn, I'm no expert but might be worth while researching neoprene gloves. Companies such as Sealskinz

Better brands maybe more breathable
Shane O'MalleyFeb 25 2024, 12:40pmI have a pair of trekmates Rigg gloves that I find very good.

They are waterproof but not designed for really cold weather so my hands don't get too hot.

Disclaimer is that I work for 53 Degrees North but there is a range there for different temps.

Shane
Dara O'BrienFeb 25 2024, 12:50pmRiggs was Mel Gibsons character, they should have called them ‘Murtagh’s’ - he was played by Danny Glover.

Ba-dum-tish…
Robbie WilliamsFeb 25 2024, 2:07pmI suffer from the same with Raynauds

Gloves never worked out in really cold weather, with fingers separated it gets worse, got a thick style waterproof mittens (berghaus) but any good ones. You will literally be almost sweating in them
Alistair HodgettFeb 25 2024, 2:31pmAlso have Raynaud's (we could start a support group...). In addition to the suggestions already made I have found these helpful: 1) Raidlight waterproof mitts that go over gloves or mitts. They look daft but keep hands dry during long runs in bad weather and 2) those sachet style hand warmers to keep fingers warm inside a mitten.
Ronan DoyleFeb 25 2024, 3:09pmYou could carry surgical gloves as a back up or if you get caught out with the weather,
Eoin McDonnellFeb 25 2024, 3:31pmI'm far from an expert...

I find the Decathlon gloves to be as good as far more expensive brands. So you could maybe buy two and carry a dry pair.